Wednesday, October 16, 1912

by Elizabeth

When asked if he regretted shooting Theodore Roosevelt, John Schrank replied, “Regret that I did not kill him—that is what I feel. It was the greatest failure I ever had in my life and I have had many.” He called Roosevelt “the great American political boss. He waves his hat and we are all to obey. I hate him when he waves that hat of his and the people shout and he shows his teeth. Especially I hate his teeth.”

Schrank scoffs at the idea that he is crazy. “I have been watching this man Roosevelt ever since the assassination of William McKinley. The murdered president has appeared to me several times in dreams. Once he sat up in his coffin and pointed at Roosevelt. ‘That man was responsible for my death,’ said Mr. McKinley. I have had my eye on him ever since.”

Roosevelt’s bullet wound is more severe than first thought, but the doctors feel no present good can come of an operation to remove the bullet at this time, so there it will remain. Blood poisoning is the larger worry now.

